Back to School 2013-2014

“The beginning is the most important part of the work.”   -Plato

Welcome back,  Volunteers!!

This year’s Back to School trainings were unprecedented. We had over 120 volunteers attend in San Francisco and Oakland combined. Thank you for your dedication and enthusiasm!

For those of you that were not able to attend the Back to School trainings, I would like to give you a quick introduction to help you get to know me a little better:

My name is Angie Kite – the new Literacy Trainer for Experience Corps Bay Area. I recently moved from Jacksonville, Florida where I taught 15 brilliant, loving third graders in literacy, mathematics, science, social studies, and everything in between.  I graduated from the University of Florida in 2005 and joined the Peace Corps to teach English in Suriname, South America. After I returned from my volunteer stint, I taught fourth and second grade for three and a half years at Henry F. Kite Elementary School. During my fourth year of teaching, I joined International School Services in Republic of Congo teaching a combined Pre-Kindergarten/Kindergarten class in the mornings and K-5 literacy and physical education classes in the afternoons.  Here I worked with English Language Learners from all over the world and grew tremendously as a professional educator and human being.  I am thrilled to be a part of Experience Corps and it’s mission of creating powerful opportunities for 50-plus adults to meet society’s greatest challenges, specifically education.

Now, on to the more interesting stuff…

BACK TO SCHOOL RECAP

For those of us in education, the end of summer always means a new beginning.  For the kids it may mean new school clothes or earlier bedtimes, and for Experience Corps members it means starting anew with a new group of students or rekindling relationships with previous mentees.  Here are a few tips to think about as you get ready for this new school year.

Relationship building:  Building Relationships Powerpoint 13-14

How will you get to know your students and let them get to know you this year?  I presented some ideas at the Back to School trainings (see attachments below), and you all shared your own ideas (joke books, maps to show where you’ve been).  Begin thinking about this now, and plan to start building relationships intentionally on the first day.

One additional relationship building activity is the Extended Nametag as explained and shown below.

You can use notecards, large labels or a piece of paper for this.  First, write the student’s name, in large letters, in the middle of the card.  Then, have the student draw each of the things listed in the corner where they are listed.  You don’t need to write the labels, just tell them as you go.  You or the student can write words under the pictures if that makes sense.  Make a nametag for yourself as well.  You can do that ahead of time or at the same time.

extended nametag

Good luck on your journey to build new, positive, and lasting relationships this school year!

Reading Inventories Multiple Grades

All About Me Inventory 2012-2013

How do You Learn Best Questionnaire

Strategies for Different Learning Styles

About Experience Corps Bay Area

Experience Corps Bay Area recruits and trains adults 50+ to tutor and mentor elementary school children, with a focus on K-3 literacy.
This entry was posted in Back to School. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back to School 2013-2014

  1. fremming@comcast.net says:

    Dear Experience Corps,

    I will not be participating with Experience Corps this Fall and henceforth at least until the fall after my 65th birthday on 3-21-2015.

    Thank you,

    Hal Fremming

    510-301-6470

    fremming@comcast.net

  2. Spencer Larsen says:

    Thank you, Angie. It was nice to meet you, and we look forward to working with you this year. Do you have a family connection to the Henry F. Kite Elementary School? Date: Fri, 30 Aug 2013 21:20:49 +0000 To: spencelars@msn.com

    • Hi Spencer, Thanks for the warm welcome! It was such a pleasure to meet everyone at Back to School and I think it’s going to be such an amazing school year.

      Haha! Yes, I do. Henry F. Kite was my great, great uncle on my father’s side. I didn’t know this until my first year of teaching. The kids always loved it and thought they were the “lucky” class because their school was named after their teacher 🙂

  3. True Heitz says:

    Haven’t been able to attend one of your sessions, but I like your written voice.
    Would you please “post” a photograph of yourself?
    I am a visual learner, (haha) , and would like to SEE you.
    YES… to well-prepared beginnings!
    Thank you

    • Hi True: Sorry you haven’t been able to make it to a session yet, but looking forward to seeing your face soon as well! Let me see what I can find as far as photographs go and I’ll get back to you. Otherwise, maybe it means you’ll come to the next session just so you can SEE me?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

